Advisory Committee

The role of the Advisory Committee is to approve the acquisition and commissioning of works of art and advise on the policy and stewardship of the Collection. The Committee meets three times a year, and members are not remunerated.


The current members of the Advisory Committee on the Government Art Collection are:

Sir David Verey CBE – Chair

Ex Officio:
Nicholas Cullinan – Director, National Portrait Gallery
Alex Farquharson – Director, Tate Britain
Gabriele Finaldi – Director, National Gallery
Penny Johnson CBE – Director, Government Art Collection, DCMS
Emma Squire – Director, Arts, Heritage and Tourism, DCMS

Susan Collins – Artist and Director of the Slade School of Fine Art, University College London
Melanie Keen – Director, Institute of International Visual Art
Clare Lilley – Director of Programme at Yorkshire Sculpture Park
Ben Luke – Critic and Writer on the Visual Arts
Mary Ann Prior – Art Curator and Advisor