Advisory Committee

The role of the Advisory Committee is to approve the acquisition and commissioning of works of art and advise on the policy and stewardship of the Collection. The Committee meets three times a year, and members are not remunerated.

The current members of the Advisory Committee on the Government Art Collection are:

Sir David Verey CBE – Chairman

Ex Officio:
Alex Farquharson – Director, Tate Britain (from November 2015)
with Sir Nicholas Serota – Director, Tate
Gabriele Finaldi – Director, National Gallery
Dr Nicholas Cullinan – Director, National Portrait Gallery
Clare Pillman – Director, DCMS
Penny Johnson CBE – Director, Government Art Collection, DCMS

David A. Bailey MBE – Director of ICF International Curators Forum
Iwona Blazwick OBE– Director, Whitechapel Gallery
Dr Andrew Renton – Director of Curating, Goldsmiths College
Susan Collins – Artist and Director of the Slade School of Fine Art, University College London (UCL)
Clare Lilley – Director of Programme at Yorkshire Sculpture Park