Accessibility statement

The Government Art Collection and the DCMS is committed to ensuring that its websites achieve a high standard of accessibility for the benefit of all our visitors, regardless of disability or impairment and to meet its statutory obligations under the Disability Discrimination Act (1995).

Our accessibility standards adhere to the World Wide Consortium (W3C) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 1.0) and to recommendations set out by the e-Government Unit.  Currently all template pages of our main website are compliant to WCAG priority 1 and 2 (compliance AA) standard. 

Monitoring, Testing and Evaluation

We test our sites using screenreaders, automated validation tools and by manual checks. These tests are carried out during the design phase and periodically through the life of the site. 

Readability tests

We recognise that all our visitors, particularly with cognitive and learning disabilities benefit from web sites that are easy to read and understand.  Currently our site has been evaluated at:

Gunning Fog index 14.841
Flesch Reading Ease 41.712
Flesch-Kincaid 10.133

Accessibility features on this site

Accessibility and help pages on this site provide advice and support for users.

If you have a suggestion about how we can improve the accessibility of our site or you would like more information about our accessibility policy please do get in touch.  Our contact details and a feedback form are available on the contact us page.

1rough guide to the number of years of schooling it would take someone to understand the text.  17 is considered postgraduate level
2on a 100 scale. The higher the score the easier to understand
3another measurement of the average years of schooling it would take someone to understand the content.